Click HERE for first round results.
Click HERE for second round results.
Click HERE for third round results.


(46) 1996 Florida State - 30
(211) 2007 West Virginia - 23
The Florida State defense held Steve Slaton to 35 yards rushing and a fumble as West Virginia exited the tournament for good.

(339) 1993 Tennessee - 28
(83) 2008 Utah - 26
Utah jumped out to a big lead against the worst remaining seed in the tournament. But Utah blew a 26-14 fourth quarter lead to suffer their first loss. At least there will always be memories of the 2009 Sugar Bowl.


(46) 1996 Florida State - 28
(339) 1993 Tennessee - 23
Phil Fulmer's '93 Volunteers finally tasted defeat at the hands of the '96 Seminoles.

The Tennessee passing game had been on point all tournament long with Heath Shuler and a talented receiving corps (Cory Fleming, Craig Faulkner, Billy Williams). But the defensive line for Florida State got to him early and often and rattled the senior leader. Defensive ends Peter Boulware and Reinard Wilson each registered 2 sacks and Shuler was looking over his shoulder the majority of the game.

Tennessee got the running game going early, with Charlie Garner and James Stewart each registering touchdown runs in the first half. But once the passing game was erased, linebackers Daryl Bush, Henri Crockett, and Sam Cowart were free to key on the tailbacks.

Offensively Florida State rode tailbacks Warrick Dunn and Dee Feaster to victory. The Seminoles ran for a whopping 231 yards in the game while the passing game struggled.

1996 Florida State (#46 overall seed) advances to the Bracket of Champions. The Seminoles will face the winner of Bracket 19 in the first round.

No comments: