Click HERE for first round results.
Click HERE for second round results.
Click HERE for third round results.


(94) 1980 Georgia - 21
(163) 1991 Michigan - 24
The national champion Georgia Bulldogs fell two games shy of the Bracket of Champions as Desmond Howard out-shined freshman sensation Herschel Walker.

(222) 1986 LSU - 15
(35) 1987 Florida State - 32
Florida State won in a blowout as LSU only managed 237 yards of offense. Quarterback Tommy Hodson threw two interceptions and RBs Harvey Williams and Sammy Martin only managed 66 total yards.


(163) 1991 Michigan - 22
(35) 1987 Florida State - 30
Why is this the greatest tournament of all time? Because of matchups like this. Where else are you going to get Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard going one-on-one with All American Deion Sanders?

Neither one disappointed their fans. Sanders intercepted a pass from Elvis Grbac and returned a punt 67-yards for a touchdown. Howard caught a 24-yard touchdown pass from Grbac and also returned a punt 67-yards for a touchdown.

The difference in the game was on the defensive side of the ball. FSU could stop the other ten guys on the Michigan offense, but the Michigan defense didn't fare as well.

Danny McManus threw a touchdown pass to Ronnie Lewis, and tailback Sammy Smith ran for 91 yards and two touchdowns.

Michigan tried to counter by using their freshman tailback Tyrone Wheatley late in the game for a boost of athleticism (starter Ricky Powers only managed 28 rushing yards against the athletic 'Nole front). He ran hard, eclipsing Powers' rushing total in just one quarter, but a late fumble gave the game to FSU for good.

1987 Florida State (#35 overall seed) advances to the Bracket of Champions. The Seminoles will face the winner of Bracket 30 in the first round.

No comments: