Click HERE for first round results.
Click HERE for second round results.
Click HERE for third round results.


(86) 1989 Colorado - 29
(342) 1986 UCLA - 21
Gaston Green, Flipper Anderson, Ken Norton Jr, Carnell Lake, and the rest of the 1986 UCLA squad fell to an oft-forgotten Colorado team.

(299) 1988 Wyoming - 24
(43) 1990 Colorado - 27
Paul Roach's Cowboys nearly pulled a monumental upset over the 1990 co-champion Buffaloes. Quarterback Randy Welniak threw for 250 yards and ran for another 61. Bobby Dawson's 33-yard touchdown run gave Wyoming a 24-20 lead with just over two minutes remaining. But with time winding down, Colorado benefited from some VERY generous officiating, converting the game winning touchdown on 5th down.


(86) 1989 Colorado - 26
(43) 1990 Colorado - 22
Two very similar Colorado teams faced off in an unusual Bracket Final.

1990 Colorado quarterback Darian Hagan went out early with a sprained shoulder, leaving the game in the hands of backup Charles Johnson. Eric Bieniemy and Mike Pritchard tried to pick up the slack, but against a defense featuring linebackers Alfred Williams and Kanavis McGhee they were held in check.

1989 Darian Hagan on the other hand played a whale of a ball game. Running Bill McCartney's option to perfection, '89 Hagan finished with 138 rushing yards. J.J. Flannigan added 121 yards on the ground as the '89 Buffs avoided throwing on Deon Figures and the '90 Colorado secondary.

Noted in the win for 1989 Colorado was the performance of punter Tom Rouen. The senior was key in the field position battle, planting 4 of his 6 punts inside the 10 yard line and forcing the '90 Buffaloes to work extra hard for any points they accumulated.

1989 Colorado (#86 overall seed) advances to the Bracket of Champions. The Buffaloes will face the winner of Bracket 22 in the first round.

No comments: