The "Bracket of Champions" boasts a whopping 23 teams that won or shared a national championship. That means not all the national champs made it through the many land mines placed in front of them in The Greatest Tournament of All Time. The following are the 14 teams that won or shared titles who weren't lucky enough to make it to the Final 64.

1978 Alabama (11-1)
Head Coach: Bear Bryant
Who Beat Them: 1990 Miami

1979 Alabama (12-0)
Head Coach: Bear Bryant
Who Beat Them: 2003 Oklahoma

1980 Georgia (12-0)
Head Coach: Vince Dooley
Who Beat Them: 1991 Michigan

1981 Clemson (12-0)
Head Coach: Danny Ford
Who Beat Them: 2003 Oklahoma

1983 Miami (11-1)
Head Coach: Howard Schnellenberger
Who Beat Them: 1992 Florida State

1984 BYU (13-0)
Head Coach: LaVell Edwards
Who Beat Them: 2004 USC

1988 Notre Dame (12-0)
Head Coach: Lou Holtz
Who Beat Them: 2001 Florida

1990 Colorado (11-1-1)
Head Coach: Bill McCartney
Who Beat Them: 1989 Colorado

1990 Georgia Tech (11-0-1)
Head Coach: Bobby Ross
Who Beat Them: 1982 Nebraska

1998 Tennessee (13-0)
Head Coach: Phil Fulmer
Who Beat Them: 2003 LSU

2002 Ohio State (14-0)
Head Coach: Jim Tressel
Who Beat Them: 2008 USC

2003 USC (12-1)
Head Coach: Pete Carroll
Who Beat Them: 1994 Nebraska

2006 Florida (13-1)
Head Coach: Urban Meyer
Who Beat Them: 2002 Oklahoma

2007 LSU (12-2)
Head Coach: Les Miles
Who Beat Them: 2001 Nebraska

No comments: