Click HERE for first round results.
Click HERE for second round results.
Click HERE for third round results.


(110) 1995 Northwestern - 19
(147) 2002 Oklahoma - 26
Gary Barnett authored one of the best stories in college football history when he guided the 1995 Northwestern Wildcats to Pasadena after decades of losing. But Northwestern's run in The Greatest Tournament of All Time came to an end against Bob Stoops and the Sooners. It will be a long time before college football fans forget about the Wildcats, though. Darnell Autry, the Steve Schnur to D'Wayne Bates combo, and All American linebacker (and current Northwestern head coach) Pat Fitzgerald will live on forever in Wildcat lore. There are 6 parts to the video below, so be sure to enjoy them all.

(238) 1992 Michigan - 20
(19) 2006 Florida - 24
Tyrone Wheatley and the Michigan offense struggled against the Florida defense as they exited quietly from the tournament.


(147) 2002 Oklahoma - 29
(19) 2006 Florida - 23 (OT)
The vaunted Oklahoma defense made a meal out of the Gators offense, but the Sooners needed overtime to pull off the upset and advance to the Bracket of Champions.

Florida started off the game just fine. Quarterback Chris Leak led a nice 8 play drive that ended in a field goal to take a 3-0 lead. Leak capped the next Florida drive with a nice touchdown pass in traffic to Andre Caldwell.

Linebackers Brandon Siler and Earl Everett swarmed Quentin Griffin and forced Oklahoma to punt again. With a 10-0 lead and all the momentum, coach Urban Meyer decided to switch quarterbacks and put in freshman sensation Tim Tebow.

Tommie Harris, Teddy Lehman and company jammed the line of scrimmage, expecting Tebow to run. Tebow fought for 5 yards on first down, and then tried a play action pass. Derrick Strait picked off the short throw intended for Dallas Baker and returned it for a touchdown, and suddenly it was a game.

Fast forward to the fourth quarter, where Florida held a 23-20 lead with just 5:35 left to play. Meyer made a similar move to go with the freshman Tebow instead of the senior Leak, and Tebow once again turned the ball over. Lance Mitchell recovered the fumble which set up the game-tying field goal to send the game into overtime.

The Gators had the ball first and Chris Leak once again took the field at quarterback. On first down Tommie Harris broke through the line and hit Leak as he threw, forcing the ball high into the air. It came down into the arms of defensive end Jimmy Wilkerson for an interception. Bob Stoops quickly capitalized on the momentum and Nate Hybl threw a 25 yard touchdown pass to tight end Trent Smith on the first play of the possession to give the Sooners a come from behind victory.

2002 Oklahoma (#147 overall seed) advances to the Bracket of Champions. The Sooners will face the winner of Bracket 46 in the first round.

No comments: