THIRD ROUND - Bracket 62 Results


Click HERE for first round results.
Click HERE for second round results.

RESULTS - Round of 512

(62) 1999 Nebraska - 26
(574) 1985 BYU - 17
Robbie Bosco hit Scott Norberg for a 13-yard touchdown on the first drive of the game, giving BYU a 7-0 lead. But then the Nebraska defense took over. Ralph Brown and Mike Brown paced an excellent performance by the secondary, which picked off four Bosco passes and returned one for a touchdown. Fullback Lakei Heimuli finally got BYU back on the scoreboard late in third quarter. But Eric Crouch answered with a 72-yard touchdown run, and on the ensuing possession Loran Kaiser forced a Bosco fumble and the game was in the bag.

(707) 1998 Virginia Tech - 20
(195) 1985 Iowa - 25
Frank Beamer was tempted to take the redshirt off quarterback Michael Vick after the Hokies suffered injuries to both quarterbacks Nick Sorensen and Al Clark. Clark toughed it out down the stretch, but Larry Station and the Iowa defense didn't have to worry about him running the ball. Iowa running back Ronnie Harmon had enough success against the Hokie defense (John Engelberger, Ike Charlton, Corey Moore, Pierson Prioleau) to offset a so-so outing by QB Chuck Long.

(190) 1992 Texas A&M - 20
(323) 2002 Notre Dame - 17
Carlyle Holiday threw a 66-yard touchdown pass to Arnaz Battle on the first play of the game, but then the defenses took over. The two teams combined to force 8 turnovers. Additionally, each defense scored a touchdown - Aggie corner Aaron Glenn returned an interception 46 yards for a score, and Irish defensive back Shane Walton returned a fumble 32 yards for six. A&M's running game made the difference down the stretch. Greg Hill and Rodney Thomas accounted for all 54 yards on the final Aggie drive, which ended with a 32-yard game winning field goal by Terry Venetoulias. R.C. Slocum was happy to extract a little revenge after Notre Dame beat the undefeated Aggies 28-3 in the Cotton Bowl at the end of the 1992 season to destroy their national championship hopes.

(446) 1990 BYU - 24
(67) 1985 Florida - 30
Heisman Trophy winner Ty Detmer had a rough day in the pocket for BYU as 1985 Florida advanced to the bracket semifinal with a 30-24 win. Florida linebacker Alonzo Johnson had two sacks and an interception, and Neal Anderson ran for 189 yards and 2 touchdowns.

Bracket Semifinals:
(62) 1999 Nebraska vs (195) 1985 Iowa
(67) 1985 Florida vs (190) 1992 Texas A&M

No comments: