Click HERE for first round results.
Click HERE for second round results.
Click HERE for third round results.


(17) 1992 Alabama - 24
(240) 1980 Alabama - 17 (OT)
The '92 National Championship Tide needed overtime to eliminate Bear Bryant's 1980 Tide. Major Ogilvie and E.J. Junior fought hard but ultimately didn't have enough fire power.

(145) 2001 Nebraska - 37
(112) 2007 LSU - 34 (2 OT)
The first national champion to lose in the tournament - Glenn Dorsey and 2007 LSU didn't even make the bracket final.


(17) 1992 Alabama - 22
(145) 2001 Nebraska - 20
Frank Solich pulled out all the stops in this entertaining Bracket Final, but Gene Stallings had a few tricks of his own.

Both defenses came to play. Defensive ends John Copeland and Eric Curry completely took away the option game from Eric Crouch and the Huskers in the first half. Alabama even picked up a safety when Dahrran Diedrick fell on an errant option pitch in the end zone. On the other side of the ball DeJuan Groce and Willie Amos each picked off a Jay Barker pass prior to halftime. Alabama took a 5-3 lead going into the locker room at half.

That's when the coaches went to the chalk board and drew up some trick plays. Nebraska took the ball first in the second half and lined Crouch up in the shotgun and threw the ball around the yard a bit. Tracey Wistrom caught a 39-yard pass down the seam on the first play, and three plays later Thunder Collins took a swing pass 23 yards for the game's first touchdown.

Alabama answered with their first touchdown of the game two possessions later when David Palmer came around on a reverse - and threw a touchdown pass to Derrick Lassic. The two teams then exchanged field goals.

With Alabama leading 15-13 in the fourth quarter, Frank Solich called the same reverse pass Alabama scored on - with the same results. Mike Stuntz threw a 63-yard touchdown pass to Eric Crouch to give Nebraska a 20-15 lead and all the momentum.

But Alabama didn't win the 1992 national championship by giving up when they fell behind. Derrick Lassic and Sherman Williams teamed up to lead a clock eating drive that set up the Tide at the 17 yard line with just 32 seconds left and a berth in the Bracket of Champions on the line. David Palmer rose to the occasion (again) by taking a toss from Barker, juking Keyuo Craver and blazing into the end zone for the game winning score.

1992 Alabama (#17 overall seed) advances to the Bracket of Champions. The Crimson Tide will face the winner of Bracket 48 in the first round.

No comments: