1995 Nebraska
#11 overall seed - winners of Bracket #11

1987 Florida State
#35 overall seed - winners of Bracket #35

Woody Region Preview
Round of 64 Results [Part I] [Part II]
Round of 32 Results
Sweet Sixteen Results

Considering the 1987 Florida State team was the only team still alive in this round not to win a national championship, it should come as no surprise that Tom Osborne's 1995 Nebraska Cornhuskers took the field with a swagger and the confidence they could claim the final ticket to the Final Four.

The Huskers got off to a fast start. Lawrence Phillips took a hand off from Tommie Frazier 61 yards for a touchdown on just the fourth play of the ball game. It was all downhill from there for Bobby Bowden's Seminoles.

Nebraska's offensive line dominated from start to finish. Center Aaron Graham controlled nose tackle Odell Haggins for much of the game, allowing Phillips and fellow I-Backs Ahman Green and Damon Benning to repeatedly pound the middle of the defense. Fullbacks Jeff Makovicka and Brian Schuster won their battles with the linebacking corps, which allowed the tailbacks to turn 4 and 5 yard runs into 12 and 15 yard runs. As a result, safety Stanley Shiver ended up as the Seminoles leading tackler, and Nebraska finished with a whopping 417 rushing yards.

The lone bright spot for Florida State was Deion Sanders. The All American returned a punt for a touchdown early in the second quarter that briefly gave the Seminoles hope they could climb back into the game. He was also excellent in pass coverage, but unfortunately he was no help against the Nebraska running game.

Danny McManus put up big numbers in the passing game (27-for-47 for 334 yards), but it was mostly out of necessity. He also threw two interceptions, one to Michael Booker and the other to Eric Stokes.

Senior quarterback Brook Berringer even got in the game on the last couple drives as Tom Osborne rested his starters in preparation for the Final Four.

1995 Nebraska - 37
1987 Florida State - 23

No comments: