Awards Season

It's awards season again. As you may or may not know, we here at Pikes Picks choose not to pay much attention to the real awards, and instead give out our own set of awards. There are eight major awards (so far) which we will explain below.

Without further ado (because you all know what the frick awards are), here are the finalists for our eight major individual awards.

Our Heisman Trophy without the lies. We don't pretend to include defensive players for this award because we created a defensive Heisman Trophy as well (see below). The Bo Jackson Trophy is awarded to the best offensive player in the nation.
2008 Winner - Colt McCoy (QB, Texas)

2009 Finalists:
*Toby Gerhart (RB, Stan)
*Mardy Gilyard (WR, Cincy)
*Mark Ingram (RB, Bama)
*Jeremiah Masoli (QB, Ore)
*Josh Nesbitt (QB, GT)
*Jordan Shipley (WR, Tex)
*Golden Tate (WR, ND)

HERZLICH TROPHY (formerly the Arrington Trophy)
Our defensive Heisman Trophy goes to the best defensive player in the nation. It was known as the Arrington Trophy in its inaugural year, but was renamed after its first winner, Boston College linebacker Mark Herzlich, was diagnosed with cancer.
2008 Winner - Mark Herzlich (LB, Boston College)

2009 Finalists:
*Eric Berry (S, Tenn)
*Terrance Cody (NT, Bama)
*Brandon Graham (DE, Mich)
*Lamarr Houston (DT, Tex)
*Greg Jones (LB, MSU)
*Rolando McClain (LB, Bama)
*Gerald McCoy (DT, Okl)
*Derrick Morgan (DE, GT)
*Eric Norwood (LB, SoCar)
*Jason Pierre-Paul (DE, USF)
*Brian Price (DT, UCLA)
*Brandon Spikes (LB, Fla)
*Ndamukong Suh (DT, Neb)
*Earl Thomas (S, Tex)
*Sean Weatherspoon (LB, Miz)

We didn't want to leave out all the great players from non-BCS conferences, so we gave them their own Heisman Trophy too. Yes, the Faulk Trophy goes to the best player playing for a school not in a BCS Conference.
2008 Winner - Brian Johnson (QB, Utah)

2009 Finalists:
*Freddie Barnes (WR, BGSU)
*Nick Bellore (LB, CMU)
*Antonio Brown (WR/KR, CMU)
*Donald Buckram (RB, UTEP)
*Van Eskridge (DB, ECU)
*Dwayne Harris (AP, ECU)
*Jerry Hughes (DE, TCU)
*Mike Iupati (OG, Ida)
*Colin Kaepernick (QB, Nev)
*Case Keenum (QB, Hou)
*Noah Keller (LB, Ohio)
*Dan LeFevour (QB, CMU)
*Ryan Mathews (RB, Fresno)
*Josh McNary (DE, Army)
*Bruce Miller (DL, UCF)
*Kellen Moore (QB, Boise)
*Daryl Washington (LB, TCU)
*Joe Webb (QB, UAB)

The Sproles/Sauerbrun Award goes to the best special teams player in the land. That could be a kicker, a punter, or a return specialists. If you know of any great gunners that I am leaving off the list I would love to know that as well. But for now we're sticking with players you've heard of.
2008 Winner - Brandon James (KR/PR, Florida)

2009 Finalists:
*Javier Arenas (RET, Bama)
*Brandon Banks (RET, KSt)
*Drew Butler (P, UGA)
*Kai Forbath (K, UCLA)
*Mardy Gilyard (RET, Cincy)
*Jeremy Kerley (RET, TCU)
*Zoltan Mesko (P, Mich)
*C.J. Spiller (KR, Clem)
*Caleb Sturgis (K, Fla)
*Leigh Tiffin (K, Bama)

Why is there no national award for the best freshman player in the country? With as many freshmen making impacts as there are nowadays, it's about time somebody gave an award to the top newbie. And if we're going to do it, why not name it after one of the all time great freshmen?
2008 Winner - Robert Griffin (QB, Baylor)

2009 Finalists:
*B.J. Daniels (QB, USF)
*LaMichael James (RB, Ore)
*Alshon Jeffery (WR, SoCar)
*Dion Lewis (RB, Pitt)
*Andrew Luck (QB, Stan)
*Greg Reid (CB/PR, FSU)
*Ryan Williams (RB, VT)

The Deion is our "ballhawk" award. It is awarded to defensive backs that make their living around the ball. And true to its namesake, we prefer it to be done with a little style.
2008 Winner - Eric Berry (S, Tennessee)

2009 Finalists:
*Mark Barron (S, Bama)
*Eric Berry (S, Tenn)
*Perrish Cox (CB, OkSt)
*DeAndre McDaniel (S, Clem)
*Rahim Moore (S, UCLA)
*Patrick Peterson (CB, LSU)
*Tyler Sash (S, Iowa)
*Earl Thomas (S, Tex)
*Trevin Wade (CB, Ari)
*Major Wright (S, Fla)

In the highlight reel age, we figured we should have an award for the most elusive skill player. Ironically it is named for a player who made his living quite some time before the highlight reel age. The award goes to the most elusive skill player in America - a guy that defenders just can't seem to wrap up. Obviously, having a strong highlight package will play into the voting.
2008 Winner - Jahvid Best (RB, California)

2009 Finalists:
*Brandon Banks (WR, KSt)
*Dezmon Briscoe (WR, Kan)
*Ryan Broyles (WR, Okl)
*Jeff Demps (RB, Fla)
*Noel Devine (RB, WVU)
*Mardy Gilyard (WR, Cincy)
*LaMichael James (RB, Ore)
*Jeremy Kerley (WR, TCU)
*Dion Lewis (RB, Pitt)
*Dexter McCluster (RB, Miss)
*Jacquizz Rodgers (RB, OrSt)
*C.J. Spiller (RB, Clem)

This is easily our most ambiguous award. It is named after one of the all time greatest college quarterbacks. Frazier was one of the most exciting players to watch, and also happened to be one of the winningest quarterbacks of all time. This award goes to the quarterback that best matches those lofty traits. Obviously a little bias creeps into this award because what we deem "exciting" may be "hard to watch" to you (see last year's winner).
2008 Winner - Tyrod Taylor (QB, Virginia Tech)

2009 Finalists:
*B.J. Daniels (USF)
*Jacory Harris (Mia)
*Jerrod Johnson (A&M)
*Ryan Mallett (Ark)
*Jeremiah Masoli (Ore)
*Josh Nesbitt (GT)
*Terrelle Pryor (OhSt)
*Tony Pike (Cincy)
*Tyrod Taylor (VT)


Anonymous said...

That most famous of freshmen should be "Herschel".

Anonymous said...

Someone just emailed me this post and I love it. Great idea.

My only question is this: Why is Mizzou's Danario Alexander left off some of these lists? He's in the top 3 in almost every receiving category and has had the best receiving season in the Big 12 history outside of a guy named Crabtree. I think he should be on your list instead of (or perhaps in addition to) Jordan Shipley.